My promotion & tenure dossier: A plan of attack

Coates P&T dossier WBS

A few weeks ago, I had my annual meeting with my Dean. Our conversation this year largely focused on my case for promotion and tenure, which is due May 2016. Although my third year review and the evidence gathered for my annual reviews provides a strong start, the real work I have to do in the next few months is to craft an argument, a story, for how I have contributed to my field, my institution, and back that up with evidence. I’m not a very good story teller, but years of research experience have made me into a decent scientific writer. To ease my anxiety and turn this enormous, weighty process into something more familiar and manageable, I’m trying out a new project management strategy: a work breakdown structure. So here’s my plan of attack. I see no reason for hiding my materials and lots of good reasons for making this process less intimidating, so I will be posting my process, materials, and any insights here over the next several months. Stay tuned!

2 comments on “My promotion & tenure dossier: A plan of attack

  1. I really like the chart you’ve created above. i’m going to use it (citing you as best as i can) for a P&T workshop i’m presenting in at Ohio State. You can use this another quality indicator for you’re dossier.

Leave a Reply

